Calendar of Events

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar: Estuaries

July 11 @ 11:00 am - 12:30 pm

Estuaries are amongst Canada’s rarest and most productive habitats. The dynamic nature of estuaries makes them a hotspot for biodiversity and they are also a migratory stopover habitat both for species moving from the ocean into rivers and for bird species traveling north/south along the coast. Yet the very dynamism that results in such natural productivity has produced a jurisdictional quagmire resulting in very limited protection for these vital elements of Canada’s rivers.

Our Living Waters is pleased to partner with Bird Studies Canada and Nature Canada to bring you three leaders working on estuary conservation in BC, Dr. Jonathan Moore, Dr. Tara Martin and lawyer Deborah Carlson. These three leaders will share their thoughts on why estuaries are so important, how estuaries function, some of the threats to the Fraser estuary and ideas on potential measures that can be taken to conserve these ecosystems.

This event is a virtual event and will take place online at 11am PT / 2pm ET / 3pm AT.

Event Details

Jul 11, 2018
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM

Details

Date:
July 11
Time:
11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Event Category:
Website:
http://www.ourlivingwaters.ca/estuaries_webinar

Venue

Webinar